You are NOT Anxiety! You are You! Anxiety Just Might Tag Along.

One of the most difficult parts of being a person with anxiety is coming to terms with the idea that it may always be something that is present in our lives. I struggled, and continue to struggle, with the fact that my anxiety is not just going to disappear. I spent many nights crying over  this thought. Just a flickering sense in the back of my mind that anxiety may be something I deal with for the duration of my life sent me into tears. I felt weak and powerless because I could not control what was going on in my head. However, over the past few months I have realized that it is ok if anxiety is something I deal with continually. It doesn’t make me any less of a woman or a weaker Christian. I have been learning that I am in control of my life, NOT anxiety! I am NOT anxiety. Anxiety just so happens to be something that I experience. It says nothing about me. I am not defined by my anxiety, and I never will be: and neither are you!!

If you understand this struggle, please know that having anxiety does not mean all hopes of living a peaceful life goes out the window. There are ways to ebb the sting and take back control. It is something that I have to work at everyday, but it is worth it. Hopefully, someday in the future, it won’t be as hard but until then I am going to continue to look towards hope and dismiss disrepair. 

4 thoughts on “You are NOT Anxiety! You are You! Anxiety Just Might Tag Along.

  1. Stand with me, and with people like us who share in the grip of anxiety. There are ways to help loosen the hand which holds us back. It takes time and effort. It takes moving out of comfort zones into which this ugly disorder has shoved us.

    And, in some cases, we may not be able to completely overcome it in this life. But any strides we can make to ease this pain is a victory!

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

