Personal boundaries are vitally important!

This week I have been learning a lot about personal boundaries. I have taken on a lot, which I don’t mind doing, however, I have put my own responsibilities on hold to help others. Sometimes I think that it is important that I take care of me first, and then help others. I do not want to spend the year neglecting myself, and risking my  anxiety healing sliding backwards. I believe that if I begin prioritizing my duties, I will be able to be more effective. I am loving all the leadership I am getting, and I am learning so much, I just want to be sure that I do not forget about myself. 🙂

I think many people struggle with this. Boundaries are important to have in all areas of life. If people know that you do not have boundaries they will start taking advantage of you. I believe that it is vital to our health, to make sure we take time to unwind and relieve our stress. I have a difficult setting boundaries when it comes to people. I tend to be a people pleaser, and I can be uncomfortable when I feel that someone is disappointed with me. My husband has told me that I normally do this at work and put a lot of myself into relationships with others and they don’t return the effort. He is helping me focus on the job and not worry about what others think. I do not want to be a door mat!

One thought on “Personal boundaries are vitally important!

  1. Men are so much better at that I find! I too have been looking at my relationships, especially with my female friends, and realising that I avoid conflict in them at all costs, because the relationships are important to me. meanwhile…what happens to all of that emotion I don’t express appropriately? Mmmm 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

