Silence really can be golden

Over the last year and a half, since I have been married, I have learned a very important lesson. Silence can be a great thing! What I mean is that when you’re having an argument with someone it is ok to hold your tongue and go completely silent. I find that when I am upset I tend to say some pretty nasty things. As a writer, I have a plethora of large, descriptively hurtful words that intend to toss around in my moments of frustration. It was invaluable to learn this lesson. I noticed that when I went silent during the times I was most angry, my husband and I were able to find resolution quicker. We didn’t have to clean up the mess that would have ensued had more colorful words.

This lesson can be applied in any area of our lives. When I am upset with a student, colleague or family member, I can practice guarding my words. It is important for us to be able to gather our emotions before we speak. It will save us a lot of heartbreak in the end. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Silence really can be golden

  1. Oh myyyy … sounds like me haha good advice for the future for my self. Currently started a relationship and I have no filter! Words literally poor outta my mouth in times of frustration and anger. Lord help my bf …. he is gonna need to have so much patience hahahaa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Brace Yourselves, the Movember Posts Are Coming – Handsome Blogs/Pollin’ Thursday | Life, Etc.

Leave a Reply

