Panic attack free!

I am beyond proud of myself and the healing journey I have been undertaking over the last few months. I hit a huge milestone today! I needed to buy groceries and I decided to go to Walmart, since I needed to pick up my Christmas Cards. When I was ready for check out, I noticed that only 2 lanes were open and there were several hundred people at the store. The line was nearly 15-20 people deep! My natural reaction would be to leave the cart, groceries and all, and sprint as fast as I could back to my car. However, I fought the urge to flee. I waited in line for at least 30 minutes and not once during that time did I get anxious! I couldn’t believe it! All of my dedication to wellness is finally paying off!! Last year at this time there is no way I could have stood in line with that many people.

Remember that if you are in a place of hopelessness, that there is always time to heal. There is time to grow and learn to live with anxiety or depression or any other mental illness. Do not write yourself off! You are strong!

24 thoughts on “Panic attack free!

  1. Isn’t that always how it is with Walmart — great prices, but they make you wait for them! šŸ˜‰ Seriously, though, congratulations on getting through without a panic attack — that is wonderful! Onward and upward!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. High Five!!! I am so bad in those situations as well. When my husband drops me off to run into a store and grab stuff and he sees a lot of people going in and out, he always gets nervous because he doesn’t know what kind of state Im going to be in when I get back to the car! Since I have been on meds and started working out, its been so much better! Night and Day difference. High five to you! Its so great to hear someone else has these issues and can get through them!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know that feeling SO well. It makes you feel really powerful. No other personal or professional accomplishment of mine has filled me with so much pride (with the exception of just about everything positive my son does, but that’s different).

    Like

  4. Good for you!!! I had to train myself to not see all the people in the store. It took a long time to get there, but I can now go in a store and ignore everyone that is in there. I cannot tell you what people looked like or what they were wearing, but I found a way to be able to go do the once a month shopping without freaking out. I use meditation and a word to help me relax when the panic begins. I still refrain from driving when ever possible though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

