36 thoughts on “Looking for a New Read!

    • I loved that book! Maybe ,I think at least, some people can’t handle the unsettling sadness it gives to the reader? I found the story beautiful and balled my eyes out though.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Do you like poetry? “Leaves of Grass” by Walt Whitman is a great
    way to begin if you don’t and a great intro to poetry written in American idiom. Do you like morality tales? Picture of Dorian Gray
    by Oscar Wilde is a brilliant examination of narcissism and the death of the soul–and surprisingly relevant our lives today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What kind of books do you like to read? My favorite books are North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell and The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak
    Other recommendations
    The Hiding Place by Corrie Tenboom
    Red China Blues by Jan Wong
    Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella
    A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel
    Mama’s Bank Account by Kathryn Forbes
    Cry the Beloved Country by Allan Paton
    Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl by Harriet Jacobs
    A Year in Provence by Peter Mayle
    Screwtape Letters by CS Lewis
    Yak Butter and Black Tea by Wade Brackenbury

    If you tell me your favorite genres I can give you some more recommendations.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Highly Reccomended
    October 22, 2014
    SARAH’S KEY by Tatiana De Rosnay

    SARAH’S KEY by Tatiana De Rosnay, 2007. This is a haunting novel of a small Jewish family in Paris, France. It starts out in July 1942 when 10 year old Sarah is brutally arrested with her family in the Vel’ d’Hiv’ roundup. But Sarah has locked her 4 year old brother in their favorite hiding place and kept the key, thinking she will return soon. That is a very sad beginning.

    This is also the story of Julia Jarmond an American journalist working in Paris, who is assigned to report on Vel’ d’Hiv’s sixtieth anniversary. While she’s investigating she stumbles upon a trail of family secrets that connects her to Sarah.

    I don’t know why am attracted to Holocaust stories, perhaps I was Jewish in a past life and lived through the horrible times. This is the first novel I’ve read, that’s not based on a personal Holocaust story, although I’m sure some of it’s based on facts, the character’s are not real.

    So far each short chapter goes from Sarah’s past life, then to Julia’s present life. So you get the stories pieced together slowly as they meld together. . Maybe that makes the horror of it less hard to take?

    NOTE: I loved this book. I highly recommend it!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea, by Barbara Demick. One of the most interesting books I’ve ever read. It’s by a journalist who interviewed several people who somehow had managed to escape North Korea.

    I also recommend joining Goodreads, if you haven’t already. I’ve gotten great recommendations there. I have so many on my “to read” list that I’ll probably never finish them all. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m really into chick lit, so I would suggest anything by Meg Cabot and anything by Sarah Addison Allen. Sarah Addison Allen can engage your various senses, like smell and taste, very well. I would start off with her Garden Spells and then go from there (she just came out with the sequel to Garden Spells too). If you’re looking for a quick, easy adventure, I would suggest the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz. The books are YA, but YA books are still fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hmm. Since I don’t know what you’ve already read I’m just going to throw some titles out there.
    I recommend:
    12 years a slave
    The fault in our stars
    Anything by Stephen King and Dean Koontz
    The boy in the striped pajamas
    Parade’s End
    Fried Green Tomatoes – At the Whistle stop Café

    Can’t think of any more right now, but I’ll look at my book case when I get home and get back to you :p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

