Use your pain for good

I have to keep reminding myself that the pain of my anxiety can be used for good. I have to remember that the 30 years I have been on this earth have given me experiences that I can share with others.

Today, I was reminded during my bible study, that we are to encourage others around us and help them through their struggles. I have been thinking about this today and I realized that I (and those of you with any mental disorder) can truly help another individual who is struggling in this area. Mental disorders are often misunderstood and those with them are ashamed of sharing their problems. However, I must learn to view my anxiety as a blessing that will enable me to better serve those who suffer from anxiety or depression. I don’t want my years of darkness to be wasted. I want to use them to help others.

Is there a pain that you have experienced in your life that you have been able to use in a positive way? Leave a comment and let me know!

help-quote-300x252

10 thoughts on “Use your pain for good

  1. My pain of sexual abuse as a child has helped me help alot of young girls who are afraid to talk about it. I have helped them see it doesn’t have to ruin your life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How very motivational. My life has been pretty good to me so far. Yes with obstacles but they’re nothing compared to what others have to deal with. I guess it’s the pain of letting go that was the hardest for me so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is very true. Part of my “contract” as a doctoral student was to teach at least one undergraduate course each semester. I struggled to teach in the style of my professors. At the end of every class, I was an emotional wreck. Then, one day, I decided to let my fears, insecurities and anxiety come out. It was scary to feel and express myself so honestly in front of 50 students. But, I was the teacher. I didn’t need the grade (smile). I taught International Policy. I regularly reinforced the human consequences of policy decisions. How it is not just strategy game… Lives are changed, and not always for the best, even if we do “win”.
    Occasionally, I would even stop the lecture for a Life Moment, and we’d talk about how hard it is to be away from home, or fears about graduation, or difficulties/vulnerability of dating. I talked to the class when I was too sad to continue the lecture because of my grandmother’s death. We took time to congratulate classmates who got jobs or grad school acceptances.
    We would only take a break for 10 or 15 min, but that was usually enough to let the emotions settle down so that we could re-focus on the course material (our classes were 75 min).
    I’m not a hard-ass professor. In the beginning I struggled because I was trying to someone else. In truth I am very emotional and very anxious. Finding a way to bring this into the classroom in a productive way was wonderful. I had connections with many of my students that my classmates envied. If I can find a way back to a classroom again, I will continue to teach from such a sensitive framework. After all, it’s who I am.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elle,
    While saying I’m ‘grateful’ for my anxiety, might not be the right word, I do think that struggling with it has helped me be able to connect with others and truly know what it’s like to struggle with anxiety. I often wondered when people told me at school or other places that “they struggled too”, if they really did, or they just thought they did. Actually struggling with anxiety helps me be able to connect with others who do and I love being able to help someone realize that they are not alone. So yes, I want my anxiety to go away, but I am happy I can help others. I believe that if we struggle, we should try our hardest to help others who do as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is a really positive way to look at things I wouldn’t be so empathetic and understanding, or more I wouldn’t be able to step into people’s shoes as easily without my experiences with depression and anxiety.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

